Music Monday musings

It’s already Music Monday again!

It’s been a music-filled weekend, with the sounds of U2 serenading my partner and I from Soldier Field (just a few hundred feet away).

I figured I’d share a few links for a single artist this Monday.

One of my current favorites is a Norwegian solo artist, Sondre Lerche.

He’s a songwriter with a modern pop/rock feel. On the grand spectrum of male musicians with a guitar, he’s probably somewhere between a John Mayer/Jason Mraz and the quirkiness of an Andrew Bird.

He’s got a really charming accent when he sings in English, and I’ve liked his work over the last several albums he’s put out. I really love this music – power pop with an edge. (And, uh, he’s no at all unpleasant to look at, either!)

Here’s a few clips:

The song Two Way Monologue, from the album of the same name.

Phantom Punch, again from the album of the same name.

Lerche did an album of covers, Duper Sessions, with the “Faces Down Quartet” and one of those songs, Nightingales, was a cover of a song by one of my favorite bands of all time, Prefab Sprout.

And his new song, Heartbeat Radio, from – say it with me – the album of the same name. (I’m noticing a theme.)

Leave a Reply

