Changing the channel, career edition

A week ago, I did something really, really crazy. 

I gave notice at my job.

And you know what? It was EXHILARATING. It’s also insane, and a little scary. OK, a LOT scary. But it was also exciting and empowering.

For anyone who knows me, or has read my blog for a while, you know that just a little over two years ago, I was in a tailspin because I’d just been laid off.

Then? Just landing a job was such a focus for me. I discovered that having someone take your job from you really shakes your professional identity (and your personal one too).

But getting to change the channel on your own and take a new pathway? Is a really amazing feeling.

The job I’m leaving is a fine job with a company that I’ll forever be grateful to for giving me an opportunity and for letting me get back on the horse, so to speak. I’ve met great people and learned a lot.

But I want to explore other things. And the focus of those things? Is education. This fall, I’ll be returning to school full-time.

It’s exciting, and scary. I still have to worry about the basics, my savings, health insurance. I can’t completely give up on making money, but will have to think of different ways to do it (hello, freelancing!)

And it’s been….well, let’s just say it’s been a while since I’ve been in college. (I think Clinton was in office when I was last in a true classroom!) It’s going to be a challenge and a whole new way of looking at things for me.

And I can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

